UPDATED 3:01 PM PT – Wednesday, August 18, 2021
As students prepare to return to campus, several universities said they are requiring mandatory vaccination. Quinnipiac University in Connecticut announced in an email on Monday that students who aren’t vaccinated without exemption, could see up to a $2,275 fee for not complying.
Along with the fine, students have the potential to also lose access to Wi-Fi and campus networks. Meanwhile, students have until Sept. 14 to fulfill the requirement or face consequences.
West Virginia Wesleyan College has implemented a similar protocol. The university revealed they will now require all unvaccinated students to pay a one time non-refundable fee of $750. Those particular students will also be required to undergo mandatory weekly testing while of course, always wearing masks.
Dr. James Moore explained the fee would be used to cover expenses that come with increased testing and other resources that the college will have to utilize and deploy to keep every student safe.
Starting Tuesday, #CCSU will offer EIGHT more opportunities to #getvaccinated on campus. Go to https://t.co/1YQzRNWPvq for the schedule and listen to CCSU student Rhiannon Grimmett as she offers advice to students who aren’t vaccinated yet. #rocktheshot pic.twitter.com/bplwlTC5FL
— CCSU (Central) (@CCSU) August 13, 2021
In June, Rhodes College in Tennessee was the first to mention plans of charging unvaccinated students a fee of $1,500 a semester. Additionally, many colleges have begun a trend of handing out incentives for students to get the vaccine. The incentives include receiving laptops, gift certificates or even help with tuition.
In the meantime, schools like the University of Connecticut have seen backlash from students who have already filed a lawsuit against their vaccine mandates for the upcoming school year.