GOP senators under fire for rejecting election fraud

President Donald Trump gestures at a campaign rally in support of Senate candidates Sen. Kelly Loeffler, R-Ga., and David Perdue in Dalton, Ga., Monday, Jan. 4, 2021. (AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)

OAN Newsroom
UPDATED 10:18 AM PT – Tuesday, January 5, 2021

Rob Portman — Tom Cotton — Mitt Romney — Pat Toomey — Mike Lee —

Roy Blunt — Susan Collins — John Thune — Ben Sasse

These are the names of the lawmakers who have vowed to certify the Electoral College results on January 6. Some have also condemned the efforts of their colleagues to object to the certification.

They have all come under fire for their position, especially by President Trump who called them RINO’s in a tweet Monday.

In a separate tweet, the President noted, “the ‘Surrender Caucus’ within the Republican Party will go down in infamy as weak and ineffective guardians of our nation who were willing to accept the certification of fraudulent presidential numbers.”

Meanwhile, the faction of opposing lawmakers said they have faith in the country’s election officials, vote recounts and courts.

“Americans voted in this year’s general election, the legal and constitutional processes have continued to play out since then,” stated Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.). “Many millions of us had hoped the presidential election would yield a different result, but our system of government has processes to determine who will be sworn in on January the 20th. The Electoral College has spoken.”

Either way, their actions will go down in history this January 6 when it comes time for Congress to hold their joint session. President Trump said Americans can expect to see the real numbers that day and the true colors of GOP lawmakers.

MORE NEWS: Ga. voters swarm MAGA Victory Rally in Dalton


Source link

Author: Amber8

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.