List of GOP lawmakers to object during electoral college certification process grows

WASHINGTON, DC – NOVEMBER 12: Rep.-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA) arrives to the Hyatt Regency hotel on Capitol Hill on November 12, 2020 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Sarah Silbiger/Getty Images)

OAN Newsroom
UPDATED 7:10 PM PT – Wednesday, December 30, 2020

The list of GOP lawmakers who plan to object to the electoral college’s vote count continues to grow.

The newest editions on Wednesday included Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.) and Sen. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.).

Hawley was the first senator to commit to objecting to the vote in January.

In a statement, Duncan said he plans to object because he swore an oath to protect the legality and integrity of the elections. He pointed to the numerous claims of voting fraud and irregularities, which include changes to voting systems that allegedly violated the state Constitution.

Hawley echoed similar claims. He stated tech giants like Facebook and Twitter pushed narratives in favor of Joe Biden.

Under the ‘Electoral Count Act of 1877,’ if one senator and one representative reject the vote, the process will be paused while Congress debates on the matter.

The move ignores a previous warning from Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, who called for Republicans not to challenge the vote. However, a group of lawmakers led by Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.) has already met with President Trump to discuss the best course of action.

The Alabama representative previously stated that election results in key states could not be trusted, but he could pursue even more states if needed. Brooks took to social media to share his excitement about Hawley’s decision, stating “The fight for America’s republic is on.”

More than 30 lawmakers have agreed to challenge the vote alongside Brooks, such as incoming freshmen Rep. Barry Moore (R-Ala.) and Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.).

RELATED: Sen. Josh Hawley Announces He Will Object During Electoral College Certification Process

Source link

Author: KV123020

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.